Author Topic: National Award 2004  (Read 2272 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline admina

  • Administrator
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 8380
  • " Just when I accepted defeat,I realised I won "
National Award 2004
« on: 13. November 2012, 10:01:11 »
National Awards: Shwaas is Best Film
By:     Date:  2004-8-14    


New Delhi: Veteran Bengali film maker Gautam Ghose won the best director and Screenplay award for his 'Abar Aranye' while Marathi film 'Shwaas' was adjudged the best feature film in the 51st National film Awards 2003, announced today.

'Munna Bhai MBBS' got the best popular film award providing wholesome entertainment, even as 'Koi Mil Gaya' grabbed three awards inculding one for the best film on social issues.

Hindi film 'Pinjar' portraying partition bagged the nargis Dutt award for best film on National integration, with Actor Manoj Bajpai getting a special jury award for his role as 'Rashid' in the film.

Tamil Actor Vikram was adjudged the best actor for his role in 'Pithamagan', while Malayalam film Actress Meera Jasmine won the best actress award for her role in 'Padam Onnu Oru' Vilapam even as Bollywood star of yesteryears Sharmila Tagore bagged the best supporting actress award for her role in 'Abar Aranye'.

Child actor Arun Chitale, who gave a touching performace as a child about to lose his vision in 'Shwaas' walked away with the honours in the category alongwith Kalidasan in Malayalam film 'Ente Veedu Appoontem'.

Bengali film 'Chokher Bali', which was in strong contention for the best film, walked away with three awards including the best feature film in Bengali, Best Art Direction and Best Costume designs.

Hindi singer Sonu Nigam got the best male playback singer award for the title song in 'Kal ho na ho', which also bagged the best music direction award for Shankar, Ehsaan, Loy.

Bollywood Choreographer Farah Khan was adjudged best for her dance in the song 'Main idhar chala, main udhar chala' in Koi Mil Gaya, that also won the award in the best special effects category.

Rajiv Vijay Raghavan won the best debut director award for his malayalam movie 'Maargam', while Tarali Sarma was crwoned best female playback singer for her rendition in 'Akashitorar Kothare' in Assamese.

Following is the list of the 51st National Film Awards 2003 announced today:

1. Best feature film - Shwaas (Marathi); Producer Arun Nalawade; Director Sandeep Sawant

2. Indira Gandhi award for the best first film of a director - Maargam (Malayalam); Producer Rajiv Vijay Raghavan; Director Rajiv Vijay Raghavan

3. Best popular film providing wholesome entertainment - Munnabhai MBBS (Hindi); Producer Vidhu Vinod Chopra; Director Raj Kumar Hirani

4. Nargis Dutt award for best feature film on national integration - Pinjar (Hindi); Producer Lucky Star Entertainment Limited; Director Dr Chandra Prakash Dwivedi

5. Best film on family welfare - Padam Onnu Oru Vilapam (Malayalam); Producer Aryadan Shoukat; Director T V Chandran

6. Best film on other social issues such as prohibition, women and child welfare, anti-dowry, drug abuse, welfare of the handicapped etc - Koi Mil Gaya (Hindi); Producer Rakesh Roshan; Director Rakesh Roshan

7. Best film on environment conservation/ preservation - Juye Poora Xoon (Assamese); Producer Sanjib Sabhapandit; Director Sanjib Sabhapandit

8. Best childrens' film - Tora (Assamese); Producer Children's Film Society of India; Director Jahnu Barua

9. Best direction - Goutam Ghose for Abar Aranye

10. Best actor - Vikram

11. Best actress - Meera Jasmine (for her role in Padam Onnu Oru Vilapam)

12. Best supporting actor - Pankaj Kapoor (for his role in Maqbool)

13. Best supporting actress - Sharmila Tagore (for her role in Abar Aranye)

14. Best child artist - Ashwin Chitale & Kalidasan (for role in Shwaas and Ente Veedu Appontem respectively)

15. Best male playback singer - Sonu Nigam (for Kal Ho Na Ho)

16. Best female playback singer - Tarali Sarma (for devotional song in Akashitorar Kothale)

17. Best cinematography - Abhik Mukhopadhyay (for the Bengali film Bhalo Theko)

18. Best screenplay - Goutam Ghose (for Abar Aranye)

19. Best audiography - Anup Mukhopadhyay and Deepon Chatterjee (for Bhalo Theko)

20. Best editing - Aarif Sheikh (for Samay)

21. Best art direction - Indranil Ghosh & Sharmishtha Roy (for Chokker Bali)

22. Best costume designer - B B Ray & Sushanto Pal (for Chokher Bali)

23. Best music direction - Shankar Mahadevan, Aloysis Mendonsa and Ehsaan Noorani (for Kal Ho Na Ho)

24. Best lyrics - Suddala Ashok Teja (for Telugu film Tagore)

25. Special jury award - Manoj Bajpai (for Pinjar)

26. Best special effects - Creator Bimmini Special Fx and Design Studios - James Colmer & Lara Denman and Digiral Art Media - Marc Kolbe & Craig Mumma (for Koi Mil Gaya)

27. Best choreography - Farah Khan (for the song 'Idhar Chala, Main Udhar Chala' of Koi Mil Gaya)

28. Best feature film in each of the language specified in the Schedule VIII of the Constitution

Best feature film in Assamese - Aakashitorar Kothare; Producer Sangeeta Tamuli; Director Manju Borah

Best feature film in Bengali - Chokher Bali; Producer Shrikant Mohta & Mahendra Soni; Director Rituparno Ghosh

Best feature film in Hindi - Raghu Romeo; Producer National Film Development Corporation Ltd; Director Rajat Kapoor

Best feature film in Kannada - Preethi Prema Pranaya; Producer Kavitha Lankesh; Director Kavitha Lankesh

Best feature film in Malayalam - Sabhalam; Producer Anil Thomas; Director Asok R Nath

Best feature film in Marathi - Not Only Mrs Raut; Producer Aditi Deshpande; Director Gajendra Ahire

Best feature film in Oriya - Aw Akkare Aa; Producer Subas Das; Director Subas Das

Best feature film in Tamil - Eyarkai; Producer V R Kumar; Director S P Jhananathan

Best feature film in Telugu - Aithe; Producer Gunnam Ganga Raju; Director Chandra Shekhar Yeleti

29. Best feature film in each of the languages other than those specified in Schedule VIII of the Constitution.

Best feature film in English - Dance Like A Man; Producer National Film Development Corporation Ltd; Director Pamela Rooks

Special mention: Dathathreya (Actor), Nedumudi Venu (Actor)

No awards recommended for Garhwali, Bhojpuri, SanthalIi

Offline SG

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 2764
Re: National Award 2004
« Reply #1 on: 04. April 2013, 14:25:40 »

National Award Winners

Sonu Nigam was judged the Best Playback Singer for the title track of Nikhil Advani's Kal Ho Naa Ho.